Do Heavy Oils Harm Hair More Than They Help

FlaxCare Essentials

This post is for those of you, like me, who have tried regimen after regimen for your natural hair without success.

I stopped relaxing my hair in 2007 and immediately tried doing a ‘natural’ routine. I bought oils, butters, all natural conditioners (which were loaded with oils and butters), and I even tried co-washing. When nothing worked, I figured it was just because I hadn’t found my ‘staple’ products and I needed to keep looking and trying different products. Of course, this led to a bathroom cabinet full of barely-used products.

I’m a smart person, I told myself. I can figure this out. And because I love science, I decided to approach the problem scientifically. First, define the problem (dry, unmanageable hair), then determine the cause. Once you know what’s causing your dry hair, you’ll have a better chance of reversing it, by doing the opposite.

Olives and Olive Oil
© m_bartosch/ FreeDigitalPhotos.net

It…

View original post 559 more words

Leave a Reply

